Wax Forum

Wax Forum (http://www.waxforum.com/index.php)
-   Paint Care (http://www.waxforum.com/forumdisplay.php?f=5)
-   -   What Products for my Harley? (http://www.waxforum.com/showthread.php?t=4668)

WARG 05-26-2012 11:14 PM

What Products for my Harley?

I have a 7 year old Harley Fatboy that is my baby. It has always been garage kept and is under a cover. The paint is in good shape except for the occasional ding from the road, etc. I am looking for some products to really bring out the shine in the burgundy paint and spiff up my old girl.

I have been looking at the clay bar system, then the 3 step wax system to follow up and the Showtime Instant detailer in between washes. Also looking at the Mothers chrome polish for the chrome (and a lot of it). Is this the best route? And should I top off with the Reflections Top Coat or a spray wax?

I'm new to the clay bar and I'm all out of my other products so I want to buy some good stuff without breaking the bank. thanks in advance.

Here's a pic:
http://i110.photobucket.com/albums/n...DSC_0671-2.jpg

ffboy 05-27-2012 03:06 AM

Re: What Products for my Harley?

Nice! It sure has lots of shiny metal bits. From the pictures, it looks like it is all chrome, but also looks like some of the shiny metal parts may not be chrome, but something similar in looks. For those, California gold chrome and/or metal polish are 2 options.

Chrome polish has cleaning agents, as well as protective polymers so using top coat may no longer be needed.

For the painted parts, Step2 micropolishing glaze and step 3 pure carnauba or top coat, and regular maintenance with showtime detailer, FX spray wax or reflections spray wax

abnot 05-27-2012 03:44 AM

Nice looking Harley.

If your plan was to top the chrome with Top Coat or spray wash, that should not be necessary. The chrome polish will clean and apply some protection to the chrome.

WARG 05-27-2012 08:55 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by ffboy (Post 27529)