Mothers Wax Forum

Go Back   Wax Forum > Special Care

Special Care Headlights, rubber and plastic trim, taillight lenses, glass, convertible tops -- all your special finish needs are discussed here.

Closed Thread

Thread Tools     Search this Thread     Display Modes  
Old 07-20-2007

Default Motorcycle windshield

I have a 2004 Honda and the windshield has some clear coat over spray on it from work. I can't see it but I can feel it.

I also notice it's on my tank and guess I will try the Clay system on the tank but I am not sure of the best product to remove the overspry from the plastic windshield.

I am new to Mothers products and appreciate any help anyone can give me.

Fritz
Old 07-20-2007

Default Re: Motorcycle windshield

Fritz.
I rang a Honda Motor Bike Dealer, and he had someone look it up, and he informs me that most motorbike windshields are made of plexiglass, which is ideal for motorbikes as it is shatterproof. That being said it is also quite soft in nature.
He had no idea on how to clean it with regard to your problem, so I used a search engine to try and find a result.

The advice with regard to 'What not to do' I'll deal with first.
Do not use paper towels with the cleaning product as this will most likely scratch the plexiglass.
Do not use ordinary glass cleaning products as these will contain ammonia, again harmful for your plexiglass.

Now that's out of the way, automotive glass cleaning products in the main do not contain ammonia, and Mothers is one of these that does not have ammonia in its makeup. Having said that, a glass cleaner will most probably not solve your dilemma.
To work the product, the advice I found was to use a soft terry cloth, but a microfibre polishing cloth was what was best recommended.