Mothers Wax Forum

Go Back   Wax Forum > Paint Care

Paint Care Ask questions, seek advice, and share techniques about exterior paint care.

Closed Thread

Thread Tools     Search this Thread     Display Modes  
Old 12-04-2012

Default Mom's Carnuba Wax California Gold

New to the forum, but been lurking and reading for a while.

I have been detailing cars for many years using different products. I like to use what works, not what is in fashion. I recently switched to Mothers after a test run on one of my vehicles treating half with Mothers and half with a competitor. After 6 weeks in the south east Texas sun, I came to the conclusion that Mothers performed better.

Conclusions (my $.02)
  • I felt the clay bar and cleaner were the same between the two manufacturers.
  • Mothers Polish & Glaze was superior, better depth of shine. I did literally "feel" that the paint was slicker with Mothers
  • Carnuba wax lasted longer & stayed shinier

I did this test on one of my black cars, so that's the hardest on waxes I feel as they get the hottest in the Texas sun.

My question after all this is about the Cali Gold Carnuba Wax. It is difficult to get off either leaving it damp or drying to a haze. I am using the liquid as opposed to the paste.

What are the tips and tricks for application and removal?

I
just waxed my other black car over the weekend and had similar results. Easy to apply, but hard to get off. This is compared to the competition. The shine is excellent, but the work required detracts from the results. BTW, I am old school. I do this all by hand. Never had problems with swirls this way.

Any guidance would be appreciated.

E.
Old 12-04-2012
Administrator

Default Re: Mom's Carnuba Wax California Gold

Welcome to Wax Forum!

Usually difficulty in removal of a carnauba product is related to too much product or too much drying time -- or both.