Post Thanks / Like

Orbital Polisher question from a newbie

Hi,

This is my very first post. As a hooby Ive done some restoration to muscle cars which kinda sparked my interest in doing auto detailing as a side job until I get a good customer base. I currently have a dewalt 849 for compounding, but wanted to get a good orbital polisher for polishing/waxing. Im not sure what to get. I was told to get one of those big 10 inch ones from Gem but i see a lot of people like the porter cable. I also see tons of cheaper polishers at stores (10") but Im not sure what makes a polisher/waxer better than others. What do you recommend?? Im I missing out on something by getting the smaller porter cable?

Also what products do you recommend that I should get for my aresenal. (compounds, wax/sealers, dressings, etc) and the best online places to purchase. Up until now I would send my projects out to detailers after wet sanding my cars so I have little experience with the detailing part. (I have only used 3M Compounds on occasion when my detailer was unavailable but he would always polish/wax). I want to know the best practice to get the best results. (waxes vs sealers etc).

thanks for your help and patience.

Tom
    Last edited by nebula72; 03-11-2004 at 04:10 PM.

Post Thanks / Like
    Best place online is www.premiumautocare.com

Those 10" waxers are nuttin compared to a porter cable. It`s more expensive but with that, the right pads and products and there is almost nothing you can`t do to make a car glow. The 10" ones are basically wax on wax off. The PC is a Dual Action tool with adjustable speed settings and with a velcro backing plate you can swap out pads for cutting/polishing/finsihing. You would not be missing out on anything by going the PC route.

Products are a matter of taste - I prefer 4 Star platinum line and Poorboy`s line - both awesome awesome products!

and Welcome!
    You have activated my special ability....

Post Thanks / Like
    Tom,